Thursday, March 8, 2007

New OUT Elected Officials

I sit on The Board of Directors of the NYC chapter of The Stonewall Democrats. I help provide them with a Transgendered viewpoint along with Judicial Delegate Melissa Sklarz, the first openly Trans person elected into office in New York State. Our goal is to advocate for legislation that guarantees equality and fairness for the LGBT community in New York City, and to support openly LGBT and Gay-friendly candidates for greater representation in the political process. The organization is under the leadership of newly-elected President Matt Carlin.

At the meeting on Wed. February 28, we had some exciting and wonderful news, indeed! In this year with no regular elections, there will be two special elections and the candidates highly favored to win Assembly seats are both OUT and members of Stonewall. The first member is Matt Titone, an openly Gay lawyer, who was chosen by the Staten Island Democrats to run for the seat held by the late John Lavelle (the 61st District). The second is Micah Kellner, who is the only Democrat running for the seat which will be vacated by Pete Grannis when he is appointed Director of the Department of Environmental Conservation (65th District-Upper East Side). Micah came to ask for our support after stating in an interview published in this week's Gay City News that he's Bisexual. We are very proud to support these outstanding members.

Queens District Leader Danny Dromm was also there and we talked about marching in the inclusive St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Queens. It is such a shame that the Manhattan parade still discriminates and doesn’t allow LGBT people to participate. Especially in this day and age with an Out Lesbian as the Speaker of the NY City Council, Christine Quinn, who’s also Irish American. Also there was Drew Tagliabue, the Executive Director of PFLAG (Parents/Friends/Families of Lesbians and Gays,) Jon Winkleman, Yetta Kruland, Marty Algaze and many others.

Photos: Stonewall Democrats President Matt Carlin and Queens Borough District Leader Danny Dromm, Drew Tagliabue of PFLAG, Next Assembly Member Micah Kellner.